The 2021 Dobson Award and The 2021 Joseph C. Farman Award

The "Dobson Award for Young Scientists" is granted for one or more outstanding research paper(s) in atmospheric sciences published or accepted in a refereed journal since the last Quadrennial Ozone Symposium (2016) by a young scientist (within 10 years of Ph.D).

The 2021 Dobson award winner is  William Ball

In recognition of his 3 articles entitled:

"Evidence for a continuous decline in lower stratospheric ozone offsetting ozone layer recovery" (2018),

"Stratospheric ozone trends for 1985–2018: sensitivity to recent large variability" (2019),

"Inconsistencies between chemistry–climate models and observed lower stratospheric ozone trends since 1998" (2020),

all published in Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics journal.


The "Joseph C. Farman Award" is granted to one or more outstanding scientists who have created and used high-quality, long-term time series of atmospheric measurements related to the study of atmospheric ozone and/or surface ultraviolet radiation.

The 2021 Farman award winner is The SBUV-MOD team:

(in alphabetical order) P.K. Bhartia, Stacey Frith, Natalia Kramarova, Gordon Labow, Richard McPeters,  and Richard Stolarski

In recognition of their teamwork to produce high-quality and state-of-the-art total ozone record from space.


September 10, 2021